Langheugh Trophy 8/1/11 and New Year Run photo

[nggallery id=4]

Teviotdale Harriers held their annual Langheugh Races on Saturday 8 January.  In the first race of the day for u/13 boys and girls over a course in Wilton Lodge Park it was young Jedburgh athlete Gareth Williams who crossed the line in first place to claim the Burnfoot Residents trophy winning in the time of 12:29 in second place was Callum Murray [13:10] and in third spot it was Jamie Waugh[13:22]. In second spot over all and winning the girls race and with it the Fire Brigade Cup was Ishbel Inglis who won in the time of 12:43 in second place was Molly Marshall [13:19] and in third spot it was Emma Grieve [14:06].
In the second race of the day over a course that takes in Wilton Dean, Scaw Mill, Trim Track, the winner Pam Paxton [21:57] claimed the Lodge 111 Trophy [ladies] with Jedburgh pair Joanne Gilfillan [22:04] and Zoe Williams [22:35] second and third respectively.
The sen mens race over 5 miles of tough border countryside which takes in Scaw Mill, Whithaugh Moor, Wilton Burn, Bortough Covet, was eventually won by Kelso’s Colin Welsh [51:03] second was twice previous winner Craig Grieve [51:14] and in third place was Kenny Short [51:26] when asked afterwards if this was the hardest race he had ever won Welsh replied “Yes and it was also the toughest I have ever run”.
Since 1987 Alan Coltman has completed 24 out of 25 Langheugh races ~ only missing the 1991 race.


~ ~ ~ ~ ~

New Years Day 2011


1 January 2011
1 January 2011