Christmas raffle

Dear All

The Committee would be really grateful if everyone could make a donation towards our Christmas Raffle. We are looking for Items for hampers, bottles, chocolates, gifts etc etc.

If you could please hand these items to any committee member or at the kids training on a Wednesday night on or before Friday  21 December to allow Sylvia Grieve enough time to make up the hampers for the draw on Sunday 23 December. 

If anyone is able to sell any of our raffle squares and not received a sheet, again please ask a member of the committee.

This is one of our main fund raisers so all donations and ticket sales will be much appreciated.

Many thanks.
Donna Inglis

High Five At Burns Club Races

Fifty Teviotdale Harriers each gave their very best in the annual Burns Club Races on Sat 17th November on a beautiful sunny afternoon in Hawicks glorious Wilton Lodge Park, writes Paul Lockie.

Five Trophies were up for grabs, across three courses each starting near to the Burns Club. The Burns Club have kindly sponsored this Harriers event for over 50 years.

Iona Jamieson, Robert Wood, Lyle Beattie, Gregor Welsh & Eilidh Jaffray

First race off were the men with veteran Frances Cannon first away for the Will Clark Memorial Trophy. However the race belonged to Gregor Welsh who raced his way through 6 front runners to find himself first across the line after 2.4 miles to take the trophy.
Next to run were the under 13 girls and under 11 boys with 12 young Harriers proudly lined up at the start line for their 1.1 mile course. The race was competitively fought with the first 5 runners crossing the finish line within about 10 seconds of each other, but it was young Lyle Beattie first across, picking up the Iain Watson Memorial Shield and Iona Jamieson first girl lifting the Stan Reid Trophy.

The last race of a great afternoon had the largest field of runners with 20 Harriers taking on the 1.9 mile course. In another closely fought race Robert Wood finished first to pick up the coveted Burns Club Trophy , closely followed across the line by Eilidh Jaffray who took the John Elliot Trophy.

Afterwards runners, families and supporters crossed to the Burns Club and enjoyed superb hospitality and presentations kindly awarded by Burns Club President Alec, with a special appearance of Andrew Oliver to award the Burns Club Trophy. Andrew had lifted the same trophy some 50 years earlier in the same venue.

The fastest runners on the day for the 3 courses were Colin Welsh in 13:08 in the gents race, Fraser Clyne in a very impressive 10:04 on the 1.9 mile course, and Iona Jamieson 6:52 on the 1.1 mile junior route.

Huge Thanks to the Burns Club for their sponsorship, Burn Club President Alec and Andrew Oliver for presenting the trophies , everyone who helped on the day and all the supporters who cheered and encouraged the runners.

The next club race in Teviotdale Harriers calendar is the Menzies Race on Saturday 22nd Dec.

Burns Club Races 2018 – Results

Another National Title For Wonderful Walker

Sammy Walker claimed Scottish Short Course Cross Country Championship Gold at Lanark on Saturday, adding another National title to his ever growing collection.
The V60 10,000m World Champion earned his latest accolade in fine fashion, winning his category by over a minute from second placed Cambuslang Harrier Paul Thompson and Kilbarchan AAC runner Donald Petrie in third. 

Sammy raced around the 4000m two lap course and stopped the clock at 13:49.

Never in Question for Alfie’s Army

Saturday nights Jubilee quiz certainly got full marks from everyone who was there.

The social event followed hot on the heels of the afternoons racing up Hawick Mair.

Held in a cosy Evergreen Hall, the venue may have been a tad more favourable than the wet and windy racecourse but the occasion wasn’t any less competitive.

Alfie’s Army (Derek Ballantyne, Alan Coltman, Andrew Gibson, Harrison Hughes & Alfie Walker (front)

With all welcome,  47 highly accomplished brains, from both ends of the age spectrum, manoeuvred their way through Bruce’s testing quiz.

With questions suitable for young and old, nine mixed teams of canny competitors gave the old grey matter a thorough workout.

There was 126 points up for grabs and it would be Alfie’s Army who would claim the title with a whopping 106 points. Alfie Walker led the team to victory, ably supported by his army of Harrison Hughes, Andrew Gibson, Derek Ballantyne and Alan Coltman.

For Derek and Alan it was to be two quiz wins in a row as they once again climbed upon the top step and played a significant part in the winning team.

A huge thanks to everyone who came along and enjoyed their evening. One that certainly got louder and more excitable the later it got.



The athletics club for Hawick and area since 1889.