Menzies Trophy 22/1/11

Teviotdale Harriers held their previously postponed Menzies Races on Saturday 22 January. The first race of the day was for both u/13 boys and girls. In the boy’s race Callum Murray romped home in first spot in the time of 11:57, in second place it was David Mercer [12:35] and in third it was Kieron Pringle [11:04].  In the girls race young Emma Grieve [12:26] finished just ahead of Iben McMilan [12:35] with Eilidh Jaffray in third place [12:54].

The second race of the day was for u/17 boys, u/15 girls and sen ladies, first to cross the finish line and claim the Lunn Spence trophy was young internationalist Louise Mercer [18:37].  Louise also won the sealed handicap which was incorporated into the race, in second spot was Joanne Gilfillan [19:05] and in third was Zoe Williams [19:28].  Kyle Potts won the u/17 boys race in the time of 19:29, in second place was Keith Learmonth [20:18] and in third it was Charlie Marshall [22:57].
In the sen mens race for the Menzies Trophy it was Raymond Jaffray who claimed the silverware in 24:05 with Craig Grieve in second [24:11] and coming home in third was Keith Murray [24:17]. The fastest actual time and winner of the Oliver Trophy was Kelso’s Colin Welsh.