Menzies Trophy

Senior Men – First Sealed Handicap

Introduced in 1939, before emigrating to Australia, Jim Menzies, who had been treasurer for a number of years and club captain in the 1925-26 season, presented a cup in his name. The Menzies Trophy race was a designated five-mile event.

Since it’s introduction in 1939 the Menzies Trophy route remains almost the same, Victoria Road, Avenue, 10k Hill, Wilton Burn, Borthaugh, Jooglie, Braxholme Bridge, Martin’s Bridge, Buccleuch Road.

J. Scott was it’s first ever winner.

Course record holder:

  • C. Hume, 1985 – 22:02

TEVIOTDALE HARRIERS: The athletics club for Hawick and area since 1889.