Cold sleety snow and an icy wind greeted competitors on arrival at Callendar House, Falkirk where the Scottish Cross Country National Championships were being held on Sunday 22nd February. Conditions were so bad the officials’ tent was one of a number that blew away. There are reports of one tent hitting a runner as the wind lifted it off the ground. Regardless of weather conditions 2015 saw the highest number of entrants for 21 years.  Teviotdale Harriers had a small team competing and luckily a sturdy new tent that remained in position all day. The first race of the day was the u13 boys race covering a distance of 3,200m and Teviotdale had 3 boys competing. First home for the club was Fraser Clyne in a time of 12.51, position 58th, next Jai Patterson in 13.28, position 92nd then Johnlee Elder in 16.49, position 162nd. Overall winner of this race was Hamish Armitt of Giffnock North AAC who is currently a British record holder.
Next race for Teviotdale was the u15 girls event and the club had one runner. Ishbel Inglis completed her 4,000m event in 18.03, position 72nd. By this time conditions underfoot were soft and muddy to say the least. Giffnock North once again had overall winner in Erin Wallace currently SAIL 800m Scottish record holder.
Next to run was Pauline McAdam in the senior ladies 8,000m race. Pauline finished her 2 lap route in 44.01, position 206th. This race had a highly dramatic finish with Rosie Smith of HBT, who lead from early on, being beaten on the final straight by Australian student Maddie Murray currently a podiatory student and runner for Edinburgh AC.
Last away were the senior men on their 3 lap, 12,000m route.  There were almost 600 competitors in this race alone and it was an amazing sight to see the vast number of runners crest the hill.  Teviotdale had 5 competitors finishing as follows: Rory Anderson 44.51, position 92nd, Bruce Hughes 49.28, position 247th, Alan Inglis 51.23, position 315th, Alan Coltman 1:03:53, position 541st and Paul Lockie 1:09:45, position 565th. The senior men’s race had all eyes on 2 men as the ongoing battle between Callum Hawkins Kilbarchan AAC and Andrew Butchart Central AC for 1st place ensued. Andrew took the lead on the third lap and maintained it to finish champion 18 seconds ahead of Callum in a time of 38.06.