Christie Cup 10/9/11

The Christie cup was up for grabs in the senior men’s race, with ten men on the start line and three thousand metres to cover.  When the race unfolded it was club captain Alan Coltman who crossed the line first in the time of 12min 46sec, in second spot it was Alan Samuel in [12:58] and in third place it was Michael Yule [13:16]
In the u/13 Boys race which covers one lap of the putting green in Wilton Lodge Park it was Ben Slorance [3:58] who romped home in front of Alex Fair [4:03] and in third spot it was Jamie Waugh [4:04].  In the girls race Iben Mcmillan [4:13] was first over the line, closely followed by Ishbel Inglis [4:16] and finishing in third was Emma Grieve [4:26]
The u/17 boys race was won by Kyle Potts  [8:41] with Kelso’s Jason McIntosh [8:49] second.
The senior ladies race which covers two laps of the putting green was won this year by Pam Paxton [9:08] with Ann Renwick [9:13] finishing second, in third spot it was Sylvia Grieve [9:17].


Moffat Gala 12/7/11

Tuesday 12th July 2011 saw a small group of Teviotdale Harriers head over to Moffat to take part in the Moffat Gala Week Running Festival.  The juniors ran first in the 6 – 12 year age group, and came home with a prize each. 

Moffat 2011
Moffat 2011

Fraser Clyne on his first outing as a harrier picked up 2nd place in the boys’ 9 –10 year old group, Emma Grieve 3rd place in the girls’ 9 –10 year old group and Ishbel Inglis picked up two prizes as first girl overall and first girl in the 11 year old group.


Moffat 2011
Moffat 2011

For the seniors there was Alan Inglis and Michael Yule.  First in Alan Inglis, 26th position in a time of 63.08 and Michael Yule, 46th position in a time of 67.48.


Moffat 2011
Moffat 2011

Cup Races 5/3/11

Cup Races 5 March 2011


Teviotdale Harriers held their last Cross Country races of the season (The Cup Races), up on Hawick Moor on Saturday 5 March. In the main race of the day for the Teviotdale Harriers Cup, first run over a hundred years ago, making it the oldest Cross Country race in the country and the Blue Riband of the Harriers season, it was the evergreen Bill Knox who crossed the finish line first to lift the coveted trophy in the time of 22mins 11sec, with Alan Coltman behind in 22mins 51sec and in third place was Michael Yule 23 mins.
The race for U/13 boys was won by David Mercer who lifted the M & M Trophy, after one and a half laps of the racecourse in the time of 10mins 17sec, with Harry Marshall second in 10mins 43sec and Callum Murray third in 10mins 56sec.
In the U/13 girls race for the Fire Brigade Trophy, it was Ishbel Inglis who romped home first in 10min 23sec, ahead of Holly Grieve in 10min 48sec and in third spot was Molly Marshall in 10mins 53sec. The race for U/17 boys and senior ladies, which was run over 2 laps of the racecourse and at the finish it was Kyle Potts who got the judges verdict and with it the Junior Cup, over Keith Learmonth in one of the closest finishes for years, with both boys recording the time of 13mins 31sec. Third place went to last years winner Charlie Marshall.
The Ladies race was won this year by Catherine Mercer in the time of 13mins 48sec. With another close run race for second spot with Sylvia Grieve getting the decision over club mate Anne Renwick, with both runners recording the same time of 14mins 10sec.

Club Championships 12/2/11

Teviotdale Harriers held their Club Championship races on Saturday 12 Feb. In race one for u/11 & u/13 boys and girls the u/11 boys champion was Callum Murray who covered the course in the time of 6 min 8 sec.  Incorporated in all the races is the sealed handicap, which is not opened until the last competitor has crossed the line in their particular race.  Winner of the u/11 race was Gareth Williams in 5 min 25 sec [h/c 1:45] in second place it was David Mercer in 5 min 30 sec [h/c 50sec]. The u/11 girls champion was Ishbel Inglis who won in the time of 6 min 21 sec. The winner of the handicap was Eilidh Jaffray in the time of 5 min 2 sec [h/c 2:10] second was Molly Marshall in 5 min 6 sec [h/c 3:00] and in third spot was Emma Grieve who finished in the time of 5 min 51 sec [h/c 1:10]
The u/13 boys champion was Harry Marshall who romped home to win in the time of 5 min 34 sec. In the u/13 girls race the champion this year was Iben Mcmillan.
In the race for the u/15 & u/17 boys championship it was Kyle Potts who crossed the line in first place, the handicap winner was Keith Learmonth who finished in the time of 14:41 [h/c 3:20] in second spot was Charlie Marshall in 17:16 [h/c 8:00]. The ladies champion ship was run over the same course and distance, with young International athlete Louise Mercer romping home in the time of 14 min 56 sec to claim the Borthwick Trophy.  The handicap winner was Joanne Gilfillan in the time of 14:41 [h/c 1:40] in equal second place was Zoe Williams 14 min 50 sec [h/c 3:30] along with Catherine Mercer 14 min 50 sec [h/c 2:05].  In the senior men’s race over a course that takes in Wilton Burn, Highchesters Farm and Todgi Haugh Farm, was won in convincing style by Raymond Jaffray in the time of 40 mins and 30 seconds with Colin Welsh in second place just over one min behind. The handicap winner was Colin Nichol in 38 min 38 sec [h/c 8:00] in second place it was Keith Murray who finished in the time of 39 min 3 sec [h/c 5:00] in third spot it was Derek Scott in the time of 39 min 8 sec [h/c 5:00]

Menzies Trophy 22/1/11

Teviotdale Harriers held their previously postponed Menzies Races on Saturday 22 January. The first race of the day was for both u/13 boys and girls. In the boy’s race Callum Murray romped home in first spot in the time of 11:57, in second place it was David Mercer [12:35] and in third it was Kieron Pringle [11:04].  In the girls race young Emma Grieve [12:26] finished just ahead of Iben McMilan [12:35] with Eilidh Jaffray in third place [12:54].

The second race of the day was for u/17 boys, u/15 girls and sen ladies, first to cross the finish line and claim the Lunn Spence trophy was young internationalist Louise Mercer [18:37].  Louise also won the sealed handicap which was incorporated into the race, in second spot was Joanne Gilfillan [19:05] and in third was Zoe Williams [19:28].  Kyle Potts won the u/17 boys race in the time of 19:29, in second place was Keith Learmonth [20:18] and in third it was Charlie Marshall [22:57].
In the sen mens race for the Menzies Trophy it was Raymond Jaffray who claimed the silverware in 24:05 with Craig Grieve in second [24:11] and coming home in third was Keith Murray [24:17]. The fastest actual time and winner of the Oliver Trophy was Kelso’s Colin Welsh.

The athletics club for Hawick and area since 1889.