Teviotdale Harriers had the honour of hosting the Scottish Athletics National Masters Cross Country Championships on Saturday 1st February as part of their 125th anniversary celebrations. There were more than 250 men and 100 women entered from clubs all over the country including Angela Mudge of Carnethy Hill RC who has won many major titles including the Scottish Hill Running Championships three times and also the British Fell Running Championship five times. Also Kerry Liam Wilson of RonHill Cambuslang. Kerry is the first person to do a clean sweep of Masters road race titles for Scottish Athletics by winning the 5k, 10k, 10 mile, half and full marathon titles in 2012.

For those setting out the course early on Saturday morning the day dawned cold but fair and bright. Unfortunately by the time the competitors started to arrive at the registration point at Teviotdale Leisure Centre the BBC forecast of sleety snow and high winds had well and truly arrived. Conditions continued to worsen throughout the day to the point of being described as atrocious.

First to run were the ladies on their 2 lap 6,000m route through fields at the rear of Greensidehall Farm, up to the power station, along the brow of the hill, round Kippie Law Moss and back to the fields at the rear of the farm. Joining them on this route were the men aged 65 and over. Running for Teviotdale in this category was Alan Samuel who finished in 35.01, position 7th. First home for the Teviotdale ladies was Pamela Paxton in 34.06, position 46th closely followed by Pauline McAdam in 34.11, position 47th, next was Donna Inglis in 38.09, position 60th then Ann Renwick in 38.20, position 62nd.

The men then lined up for their 2 lap 8,000m route. They followed the same route as the ladies but with an extension to Whithaugh and the rear of Greenside Hall House. First in for Teviotdale was Craig Grieve in 34.56, position 34th, followed by John Tullie in 35.00, position 38th. John picked up a silver medal in the MV55 category. Alan Inglis then came in with a time of 36.52, position 70th then Alister Biggar in 38.41, position 97th. Running his first ever Masters, Michael Yule completed the course in 40.04, position 114th. President Alan Coltman finished in 46.25, position 148th then team mate Paul Lockie in 149th position with a time of 47.18. Another first timer at the Masters, Ron Hastings crossed the line in 49.42, position 154th.

Both Angela Mudge and Kerry Liam Wilson picked up gold medals in their respective races.

Due to the extreme weather conditions a number of runners were treated to first aid in the on-site tent with a small number then being transferred to hospital for treatment for hypothermia. The majority were recovered enough to attend the prize giving ceremony held in Teviotdale Leisure Centre lead by Alex Jackson of Scottish Athletics. Medals were presented by Teviotdale Harriers’ President Alan Coltman amongst others.

Life Member Rob Halliday was official starter for both races and Rachel Halliday and Alan Carruthers Chief Recorder and Chief Timekeeper respectively. Grant Moyes was Chief Marshall of a team of hardy volunteers from the club who all braved the elements to the bitter end. Later when thawed and dried out, all Teviotdale Harriers involved enjoyed an evenings’ celebration in the Buccleuch Bowling Club hosted by Life Member Grant Moyes.

Photographs below by Alan Clyne.