Jubilee Races

Jubilee Saturday 4th November 2017

The Teviotdale Harriers headed to the West End of Hawick for their second race of the season, writes Rory Anderson. The venue was the blustery but beautiful setting of the Hawick Moor where 49 well wrapped up members gathered to gallop around the famous patch of land.

It was the under 13 boys & girls who were first to accept the challenge of the bottomless, mud squelching 1.6mile course. The strong wind and cold conditions did not prevent the Harriers youngest runners from blitzing round the course showing the on watching Seniors what they had to follow later on in the day.

Alfie Walker and Robbie Jack battle to the line.

It was 7 years olds Alfie Walker and James Wood who set the early pace heading around the race course for the first time before cutting off to tackle the outskirts of Hawick Moor. With several youngsters closing with every stride it was Langholm runner Wood who made it to the turn in first place looking to secure a win for the ‘Muckle Toon’.

Irvine Welsh on his way to victory.

However the Welsh double act of Irvine and Robbie were closing the gap with less than 800m to go and all was to play for as they re-entered the horse track. Bustling for position on the final bend it was Irvine Welsh who gained the lead and held on strong to win in a time of 13 mins 43 seconds, young James Wood 2nd followed by Robbie Welsh to complete the podium. Battling out in the same race were the under 13 girls who showed sheer determination in questionably the most difficult race on the calendar.

Iona Jamieson on route to her second club victory of the year.

It was Iona Jamieson who started from the back that made her way through the pack to claim the win in a time of 14 mins and 38 seconds, second Kelly Mckay, 3rd Sophie Swan. Fastest time was Conon Harper 10 mins 24 secs.

Next to don the Maroon hooped vest was the under 15 boys, girls and women competing in the 2.3mile gruelling lung busting course which ventured further into the hills beyond the Common Land. The trio of Macy Cropper, Pauline McAdam and Anne Aitken all started at a furious pace setting a marker for those who were to follow. Back markers Eilidh Jaffray and Fraser Clyne both with huge experience of racing did not panic and ensured a good tempo was kept in the first half of the race before making their move on the steep incline which disappeared behind the woodland at the far end of the Moor. It was however Eilidh’s mother Helene who emerged as the leader with 3 furlongs to complete but the determination shown by chasing Eilidh was etched across her face, Eilidh wanted to beat her mum.

Eilidh Jaffray closing in on victory.
U15/17 Boys Champion Fraser Clyne.

With less than 400m to run Eilidh gained the lead from her mother and held on with an excellent time 20mins 51 seconds. The exceptionally fast finishing Fraser Clyne gained 2nd place (1st overall under 15 boy) with Helene Jaffray 3rd, 2nd lady. Pam Paxton completed the top 3 for the ladies with Thomas Macaskill and Euan Welsh 2nd and 3rd in the under 15 boys race. Fastest time was Fraser Clyne 14mins 37 secs.

Dougie Wood and Paul Lockie race it out.
Alan Inglis showing the effort it takes to win the Senior Men’s Race.

Last to tackle the elements of Hawick moor was the Senior men consisting of 15 runners ageing from 25 to 75. The undulating 3.4miles course began swiftly and Francis Cannon took the early lead, looking comfortable, while maintaining a good advantage on his fellow competitors. Alan Inglis and Andrew Gibson were also looking strong conquering the steep winding inclines in the fields adjacent to the Moor, closing the gap ever so slightly on Francis. As the senior men began to bunch with the handicapping unwinding Francis unfortunately twisted an ankle forcing him to withdraw from the race. Alan Inglis found himself leading the race with less the a mile to endure, cranking up through the gears finding full flight and running away from the challenging Gibson. Inglis crossed the line in first place with a time of 34mins 8 secs, Gibson second and back marker Rory Anderson 3rd. Fastest time was Rory Anderson 21mins 48secs. A big well done to all Harriers, spectators and officials for a very successful but cold second race of the season.

  • Next club race is the Burns Club on 18th November.
Senior Men -Jubilee Trophy
  1. Alan Inglis
  2. Andrew gibson
  3. Rory Anderson
U15/17 Girls & Senior Ladies – Ladies Jubilee Trophy
  1. Eilidh Jaffray
  2. Helene Jaffray
  3. Pam Paxton
U15/17 Boys – Lodge St James 424
  1. Fraser Clyne
  2. Thomas MacAskill
  3. Euan Welsh
U13 Boys – Pringle Cup
  1. Irvine Welsh
  2. James Wood
  3. Robbie Welsh
U13 Girls – Archie Richardson Memorial Trophy
  1. Iona Jamieson
  2. Kelly McKay
  3. Sophie Swan


Alex Corbett photo’s here