Christie Cup

The Teviotdale Harriers 2016/2017 season got underway on sunny Saturday 10th September with the staging of the Christie Cup. Due to ongoing works in Wilton Lodge Park the route had to be changed from it’s usual starting point at the site of the old cafe to the bandstand. Runners ran up the slope and off to the left, then followed the park paths past the pitches, round by the dunk and back to the bandstand. Juniors were first to compete on their one lap course. A total of 20 boys and girls lined up in the U11/U13 category including newcomers Robbie Welsh, Shaun Chapman, Robbie Jack, Brooke Hogg, Zak Marsh, Craig Watson, siblings Isla and Glen Jamieson. All the youngsters took off at a blistering place but when they came back into view it was Brooke Hogg who rounded the bend to cross the line first in a time of 6.18, 2nd girl and 2nd over the line was Ava Hughes in 6.21 with Maddi Hewitt 3rd in 6.46. Fastest actual time Maddi Hewitt. Victory for the boys went to Conan Harper in 6.23, with newly appointed junior boys captain Thomas MacAskill hot on his heels to take 2nd place in 6.26, 3rd was the ever smiling Irvine Welsh in 6.39. Fastest actual time Thomas MacAskill.

Next to run were 12 competitors in the U15/17 boys, girls and senior ladies race over their two lap course. This was Euan Welsh’s first outing as a Harrier and a move up to a different category for Jai Patterson. On completion of the first lap Ishbel Inglis was in the lead overall and managed to maintain that lead in the ladies race to take first place in a time of 12.55, 2nd was this year’s junior girls’ captain Carly Blaikie in 13.09 and Lauren Corbett 3rd in 13.16. Fastest actual time Lauren Corbett. Fraser Clyne was first overall as well as 1st youth in a time of 12.48, with only seconds between them Jamie Waugh took 2nd place in 12.52, Jai Patterson was 3rd in 14.27. Fastest actual time Jamie Waugh.

Final race of the day was the three lap course for the 14 senior men competing. There was plenty of support from the youngsters who had raced and were now cooling down with ice creams in tandem with plenty effort from the men as they completed lap after lap. That effort paid off for Greg Walker, who claimed victory in 22.01, 2nd spot went to Brian Gibb – back into racing – in 22.05 and 3rd placed was Rory Anderson in 22.11. Fastest actual time Rory Anderson.

All times include handicaps.

Please see Alex Corbett’s photographs HERE