Burns Club Trophy Races

Report by Rob Halliday, photo by Alan Clyne

Teviotdale Harriers held their annual Burns Club races on Sunday 4 Dec.  In the first race for senior men, Alan Inglis crossed the finish line first to claim the Will Clark Trophy, his first Teviotdale Trophy in the time of 18min 14sec, second in the time of 18:22 was Alan Samuel with the fast finishing Craig Grieve coming home in third place in 18:55.
In the main race of the day for the Burns Club Trophy it was junior club captain Keith Learmonth who claimed the spoils winning in the time of 17:18, in second place it was defending champion Charlie Marshall 17:52 and in third spot was Duncan Lockie who got the decision over Kyle Potts with both boys finishing in the time of 18:01.
The senior ladies race was won by Donna Inglis 17:32 to make it a family double, second in the time of 17:58 was Sylvia Grieve, with Anne Renwick third to cross the finish line 18:00
Fraser Clyne was the winner in the u/11 boys race winning in the time of 9:07, the race for u/13 girls was won by Emma Grieve 9:06 with Ishbel Inglis second in the time of 9:12.
At the close of competition all the competitors, families and members retired to the Burns Club where refreshments were provided and presentations made.

Burns Club Winners 2011
Burns Club Winners 2011

Full Burns Club Race results are HERE

The next race for Teviotdale members is the Menzies on Saturday 17th December, followed by the Christmas Relays the following day Sunday 18th December. Raffles and monies to be returned to Alan Reid or Rob Halliday by Saturday 17th December. For more information contact Rob on 376995.