Category Archives: Races

Hawick 10k, 5k & Fun Run

The Teviotdale Harriers 10k, Hawick 5k Challenge and 2 Mile Fun Run.

Sunday 26th August 2018

  • Start Time Fun Run 12.20pm
  • Start Time 10k & 5K Runs 1:00pm

“a flat course in the Scottish Borders with PB potential …”

Scottish Athletics permit event under Scottish Athletics Rules

  • 10 k COURSE RECORD: Mens 30:15 Neil Renault  (2010)      Ladies 35:11 Dianne Lauder (2010)
  • 5 k COURSE RECORD :  Mens 17:01 Marcus D’Agrosa (2016) Ladies 19:48 Lisa MacDonald (2016) 


Registration opens at  11:15am and closes at 12:30 pm for 10k  and  5k, and  closes 12 noon  for fun run

Cost 10k £12  and  5k £8    ( £2 discount for SAL members )

Fun Run £2 enter on the day only

10k runners must be 15 years old or over on race day

5k runners must be 11 years old or over on race day

and fun run runners under 16 years but old enough to run ! (and under 6 years of age must be accompanied by a responsible person around the course )


A fast flat course run through scenic Wilton Lodge Park,Hawick.

Closing Date for 10k & 5k 25th August -or until all places are taken. If places are still available on the day entries may be made for an additional £2


Fun Run – winners trophy for 1st Boy and 1st Girl and sweets for 1st 2nd and 3rd boy and girl.

10k  1st=£60,2nd=£40 3rd=£20 for male and females and 1st male and 1st female master £40 each and also Team Prize (mixed Team of 4) –

5 k 1st =£30,2nd=£20 and 3rd=£10 for male and female runners ,with no masters prize, but with under 16s prize with 1st boy and girl also receiving £20 each. If U16 wins 5k would get higher 5k prize.

and some spot prizes for 10k and 5 k finishers

Runners Tackle Uphill Battle

1514 Uphill Mile – 9th May 2017

On a glorious Tuesday evening, 37 runners raced through the streets of Hawick in the annual Teviotdale Harriers 1514 Uphill Mile.

In the 27th running of the 1514 Club sponsored event, Rory Anderson, Lauren Corbett, Fraser Clyne and Lucy Ash emerged worthy winners in the various categories over the challenging route.

Harriers President Alan Coltman, Lucy Ash, Rory Anderson, Fraser Clyne and 1514 Club President Mick Hogg. Photo : Kenny Baillie.

The relentless rise from the Moat Park Gates tests competitors with a continual climb of around 550 feet to the lung bursting summit at Crumhaughhill Farm.

As ever the current 1514 Club President was on hand to start proceedings on the Loan and then make the mile dash himself to be on hand to present the prizes.  President Mick Hogg, made the journey in record time but was later disqualified as it emerged he had received a lift.

On the starters gun Rory Anderson assumed his customary position and raced to the front.  Steven Beattie, Fraser Clyne and Greg Walker all followed on close behind as runners ascended the Loan before turning right at ‘The Auld Man’s Seat’ and then begin the climb of Crumhaughhill Road.

It’s was at this point where the race really took shape. This sapping stretch saw Rory open a slight but significant advantage as Steven and Fraser also moved further away from the fading Greg. Lauren, Fraser and Lucy were well on the way to victory in their respective races as gaps grew wider with every leg burning step.

Rory Anderson relentlessly raced to the top and for the third time in four years and claimed the Senior Men’s 1514 trophy in 6:38, with Steven Beattie (6:52) an impressive second and Scott Watson (7:28) completing the podium.

Rory Anderson stretches away. Photo : Kenny Baillie.

Lauren Corbett retained her Ladies title stopping the clock at 8:58. The always enthusiastic Ann Aitken took silver (10:42) with a determined Wendy Cross (11:51) earning bronze.

Ladies winner Lauren Corbett. Photo : Alec Corbett.

In the Junior Boys’ race a dominant Fraser Clyne also emerged victorious for the third time in four years. Fraser finished first boy in (6:54) but notably crossed the line third overall. Young Conan Harper (7:35) looked in great form finishing second with Ben Morozzo (7:48) not far behind taking bronze.

Junior winner Fraser Clyne and second Senior Steven Beattie. Photo : Alec Corbett.

The Junior Girls’ gold was superbly won by Lucy Ash. Lucy also emerged first female overall running hard from start to finish in (8:44). Maisie Ballantyne (9:32) also ran well to take silver with Sophie Allott (9:51) a hard earned third.

Lucy Ash closes in on victory. Photo : Kenny Baillie.

The trophy presentations were made by 1514 Club President Mick Hogg and Mick couldn’t hide his admiration for all runners and paid tribute to the weather for playing its part. Mick also gave thanks to Tony and Ashley Reilly who had provided medals for all finishers.

Lucy and Mick. Photo : Kenny Baillie.
Rory and Mick. Photo : Kenny Baillie.
Fraser and Mick. Photo : Kenny Baillie.

Teviotdale Harriers would like to say a huge thanks to the 1514 Club for their continued support, Rob Halliday for organising and to all officials, marshals, photographers and the many supporters who lined the streets to cheer on the runners.

Alec and Anne Corbett’s photo’s here 

Results 1514 Uphill Mile 2017

Time Trial 1 – Wednesday 29 March 2017

Well done to everybody that took part in the first “Summer” ?? time trial last night in miserable conditions. We had eight seniors taking part with three recording personal bests (Lauren Corbett, Kirsty Hughes and Ishbel Inglis). It was Ishbel’s first attempt at the senior route.

Thirty four juniors took on an altered route. 

Courtesy of Alan Inglis

Results 2017 TT 1