Category Archives: Race reports

Club Championships

Late burst sees Anderson secure first.

On a sunny but cold Saturday, Teviotdale Harriers hosted one of its most highly contested and challenging races of the year, writes Thomas MacAskill.

First to race was the junior race with a start of 1.30pm. 20 keen youngsters set off to see if they could place their name on the list of Club Champions. Conan Harper from the Muckletoon set off at a great pace with high hopes of glory with two of the four Welsh brothers, Robbie and Irvine following his footsteps. Harper flew around the short challenging course finishing in 1st place in an incredible time of 5 minutes and 22 seconds. 2nd overall saw Irvine Welsh just holding off his brother Robbie in a time of 5 minutes and 31 seconds. Robbie in 3rd place completed the podium with a great time of 5 minutes 34 seconds. We also saw outstanding runs from Iona Jamieson, Ava Hughes and Kelly McKay. Iona motored around the course in an excellent time of 5 minutes and 41 seconds followed in shortly by Kelly McKay finishing in 2nd place in a brilliant time of 6 minutes and 34 seconds, Ava Hughes completed the U13 girls podium finishing in a great time of 6 minutes and 38 seconds.

Second race of the day was the U15/17 Boys and Ladies. 16 runners showed great determination and dedication as they swiftly plowed their way through the 3.6km course. The course was a mixture of road, trim track and grass. Straight from the gun Fraser Clyne made his way straight to the front and he soon made a brake away. He was followed by Thomas MacAskill, Duncan Little and Eilidh Jaffray. Clyne was around 1 minute infront of second place Thomas MacAskill as he accelerated his way down the last steep hill of violet woods. 3rd place Duncan Little was around about 10 seconds behind Thomas as he came down the hill and Eilidh Jaffray rapidly tried to stay with him.

Clyne came flying along the spetch and he extended his lead to around 1 minute and 20 seconds from MacAskill with Little and Jaffray hot on the heels with around 400 metres to go. Clyne made his way over the Laurie Bridge the last incline of the race and powered his way to victory in a highly impressive time of 13 minutes and 58 seconds. MacAskill finished in 2nd place in a time of 15 minutes and 21 seconds. Duncan Little finished with highly earned 2nd place with a brilliant time of 15 minutes and 43 seconds and Eilidh finishing 3rd overall and 1st in the U15/17 Ladies with an excellent time of 16 minutes and 11 seconds. 2nd in the U15/17 ladies was Maisie Ballanynte and third was Lucy Ash. Sealed Handicap winner was Maisie Ballanytne & boys sealed handicap winner was Thomas MacAskill. The Ladies race saw the extremely talented Helene Jaffray finishing in an excellent time of 17 minutes and 43 seconds, Lauren Corbett finished in second having a superb run and a time of 18 minutes and 44 seconds, Pam Paxton finished in 3rd with a cracking time of 19 minutes and 4 seconds. Sealed Handicap winner was Pam Paxton.

The last race of the day was the Men. Rory and Greg set off with purpose and matched each other stride for stride for nearly the entire race. Bruce set off third and tried to stay the pace as long as he could. Rory was going for his fourth win in a row but Greg was hoping to improve on last years second and claim the title. In the pack Andrew McEwan was running fantastically leading out the experienced Keith Murray at the Joogly Brig. Back at the front Rory pushed hard down Buccleuch Street and managed to edge a slight advantage. Bruce had now lost sight of the leaders but was well clear in third. Moving towards the park gates, Rory had increased his lead to about 5 seconds and there was to be no way back for Greg as Rory turned on the heat to claim his fourth straight title. Greg earned his second and Bruce came home in third, the same one-two-three as the previous year. Keith got the better of Andrew over the long run in to take 4th but for his efforts Andrew grabbed the sealed handicap title with Chris Watson second and Greg Walker securing third.

Next club race – Cup Races, Sat 3rd March.

Alex Corbett’s photos here

Feel The Chills

Well it had to happen some time, after dodging the worst of the winter weather for the previous five years, the Feel The Burns Hill Race finally succumbed to the snowy conditions, fortunately only to the point of being shortened to about 7.5 miles but still fitting in about 600m of climbing. Undeterred nearly 200 hardy souls not to mention the many marshall’s took to the hills above Selkirk on Sunday and the general consensus afterwards was that the correct decision was made with another splendid event being staged in the testing conditions.

After a slippery start up the track from the Corbie Linn car park the runners turned sharply uphill towards Peat Law and the scene was set for the next 5 miles or so with a narrow track being carved out of the deep snow as we ploughed our way onwards. The climb up to the 3 Brethren featured a new first as we passed a couple of skiers making their way upwards no doubt before making a speedier descent than we managed on the detour downhill finding it difficult to distinguish the path amongst the all-white scene. The snow arrived as we rejoined the usual route at the foot of the dreaded Foulshiels climb and would accompany us for the rest of the race gradually strengthening so the field increasingly resembled snowmen as they arrived at the finish.

Among the Harriers taking part, Ian Williams was first home in 23rd place while John Tullie had his customary battle for this race this time with Kenny Short who controversially got the judge’s decision on the line, judge for yourself. John did have the consolation of comfortably taking the V60 prize to add to son Douglas’ overall victory while Frank Birch trotted round with his usual smile to take the V70 prize. Other Harrier’s taking part were Keith Murray, Duncan and Paul Lockie, Derek Scott and Pamela Paxton while Derek McHugh ran round as the sweeper, apologies if I’ve missed anyone.

More photos on Selkirk Fundrunners Facebook page while full results can be found on SHR website.